Backup Manager helps you manage backup data stored by Revo Uninstaller Pro after deleting leftover Registry entries and files and folders (for the latter, if the necessary options are set). When restoring backed up items, you can restore all of the deleted data, or you can select which individual items you need recovered. If you need to free up disk space, you can any and all backed up data. To start the Backup Manager click its button in the Tools group in the lower part of the Commands Panel.
Every Registry entry that is deleted by Revo Uninstaller as being a leftover (by using the regular uninstaller, Advanced Uninstall for Traced Programs, Forced Uninstall, or Autorun Manager) is backed up by the Backup Manager. Files and folders by default are not, as files can be quite large in size so keeping backups of them isn’t always practical. However, you can change this behavior in the Options -> Uninstaller -> Delete files and folders to to Backup folder.
The main window of the Backup Manager shows you all locally stored backups, which are grouped by their date of creation, and sorted by time of creation. Each backup has the following properties: the operation during which the item was backed up, the size of the backup, and the number of items.
The following commands are available:
- Restore – restores all backed up items; there is a progress bar, and when the restoration completes, the window closes automatically.
- Custom Restore – allows you selectively restore only specific Registry entries, files and/or folders. This is done in one or two steps, depending on whether files and folders are also backed up by the Backup Manager. In the first step you will be able to restore Registry entries, and in the second one – files and/or folders (if any). Simply check the items you want to restore, and click the Restore button. You can also click the Select All button, and click Restore.
- Delete – removes the selected backup, and moves it to the Recycle Bin.
- Delete by Time – opens a window that allows you to delete multiple backups, based on their creation date; you can delete all backups in a specified period of time, or all backups before a specified date.
- Delete All – removes all backups from the list, and moves them to the Recycle Bin. Since all backups are deleted to the Recycle Bin, if you want to free up disk space, you will need to empty the Recycle Bin.